top of page
  • Writer's pictureSammy Kalski

Friday Favorites 006

We're back with another installment of Friday Favorites! This round I only shared one per category, unlike last time, so I'm pretty proud of myself.


I've got you covered with a few recommendations for music, TV show, recipe, podcast and YouTuber!

Favorite Song

My Spotify Discover recently showed a gem of a song with me called Battle Dancing Unicorns with Glitter by Five Iron Frenzy. I could not stop listening to it after discovering it!


The grammar nerd in me was a little confused at first by the chorus proclaiming "We're battle dancing unicorns with glitter." Are we the battle-dancing unicorns, or are we challenging unicorns to a dance battle (while using glitter as defense)?


Five Iron Frenzy clears up the grammatical ambiguity with their music video!


Favorite TV Show

WandaVision is the first miniseries for the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) on Disney+. I was excited for its release the minute it was announced, and -- wow. It exceeded my expectations by miles.


Following the aftermath of Avengers: Endgame, we find Wanda Maximoff and Vision living it up as a 50s sitcom couple in the small town of Westview. It's adorable and hilarious. But not everything is as it seems as the pair travel through the decades.

WandaVision is a brilliant psychological and mythical exploration of a woman's grief. Show creator Jac Schaeffer, director Matt Shakman, and their team of writers put such thought and care into each episode. Elizabeth Olsen's performance was also incredible! I really hope she (and the show) wins an Emmy.


I wasn't fully satisfied with the ending, but I know that this is just the beginning of Phase 4, so I will just wait patiently for it to come full circle.


Favorite Recipe

I think all of the recipes I've shared so far have been breakfast related and I'm not sorry. I just love breakfast!


My mom has made this overnight French toast twice and it is sooooo good! The key is using good bread--I like brioche.


Favorite Podcast

The Happy Writer is a podcast hosted by best-selling author Marissa Meyer. She chats with a guest to discuss their work and their writing process. I love the happy writer bonus round Marissa does at the end of each episode. She quizzes her guest on several things that make them happy.


I've listened to a handful of episodes and I've really enjoyed them! The conversations encourage me as a writer and I hope they will encourage you too. It's also a great way to discover new books to read and authors to follow.


Favorite YouTuber

Pick Up Limes focuses on food, wellness, minimalism, and travel. Sadia's inspiring content and welcoming personality makes each video feel like a conversation with a friend.


All her recipes are vegan and many are gluten-free! (Note: don't watch while hungry)


51 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page