top of page
  • Writer's pictureSammy Kalski

Friday Favorites 002

Hello, hello – it’s another Friday Favorites installment! It is looooooong overdue. You probably thought I forgot about this series. I did not... life got in the way. Anyways, this is a series in which I offer recommendations (that no one asked for) for various things. You can read the first installment here.

Favorite Quote

“You have to be willing to be bad at it in order to get good at it.”


Perfectionism is a trait that’s no stranger to many of us, myself included. Who wouldn’t want to be good at everything the first try? *looks around, raises hand* However, that’s usually not how it works, unless you are disposed to naturally have the talent or skill. Most of the time, you will be bad at whatever you try the first (and probably second, third, and fourth) time. This quote reminds me that it is okay to be bad. I have to start somewhere if I want to be good, no matter skill or hobby I'm learning.


Favorite Recipe

I love pancakes, and this mini chocolate chip recipe from Six Vegan Sister has become my go-to! I've made them almost every other weekend. I'm not actually vegan, but rather lactose intolerant, so anything with no dairy that tastes great is a win in my book! If you follow the recipe for mini pancakes, you'll definitely have enough to last all week. Or not, because you'll want to eat the entire batch.


This recipe works well with gluten-free flour; I use Krusteaz. One suggestion I have is to add an extra splash of non-dairy milk as you mix the batter, otherwise it's very thick.

Syrup and strawberries are my favorite pancake toppings!

Favorite Song(s)

Lately I've been feeling like I've been listening to the same songs over and over again, so I've made it a point to check out my Weekly Discover playlist on Spotify. I enjoy a variety of music, from CHH (Christian hip hop) and rock, to Disney, movie soundtracks (mostly Star Wars) and musicals, to gospel and worship. I also love a good lofi playlist while studying or working.


A few weeks ago, I discovered this song called Big Feelings by PEABOD. Immediately I couldn't get enough of it! It's got a catchy, punchy vibe. It's about the confusion, or "big feelings," you feel when a friend turns on you.


I also enjoy finding German music! Recently I found cute long song called Lieblingsmensch by Namika. Basically, she sings about her favorite person (Lieblings = favorite, Mensch = person) and lists the reasons why they're her favorite.


Favorite Podcast

Over the past few months, I've fallen deep into the Star Wars fandom on Twitter. (It is 100% Twitter's fault for making the "Topics" function.) This deepdive (and further reflection of my own) dramatically impacted my understanding of Star Wars and its storytelling as a whole. I have deviated from my previous love-hate relationship with The Rise of Skywalker to more of a hate-hate relationship. (I may have ranted about it one too many times to my friends.)

That's how I discovered a lovely fan podcast called What the Force?, hosted by Marie-Claire Gould, along with various co-hosts and guests. I enjoy the discussions Marie-Claire facilitates, as she applies meta analyses through mostly Campbellian and female gaze lenses to everything Star Wars, from the canon, the Force, and the fans. For starters, I recommend The Power of Myth and Symbolism: The Mandalorian (great for learning about the Campbellian monomyth!); interview with writer Charles Soule (even if you hadn't read his stuff; I haven't!); and Live: Feminine Gaze & Q&A.


Favorite TV Show

In my Utah travel blog, I briefly mentioned the Netflix Original Sweet Magnolias. I need to give it the full love it deserves. The show follows three best friends, Maddy, Helen, and Dana Sue, who open a spa together in their small Southern town of Serenity, while dealing with problems of their own. Maddie is going through a divorce after a cheating scandal, Helen wants children but is single, and Dana Sue owns and is the head chef of a restaurant.

Helen Decatur (left), Dana Sue Sullivan (center), and Maddie Townsend (right) celebrate their spa opening

This show will make you laugh and cry in the best way! What I love is that each character has their own arc that I'm invested in, even the minor characters. Sweet Magnolias encapsulates so many aspects of lifefriendship (particularly, female friendship), parenting, careers, relationships, high school drama, growing up – in an endearing and relatable way. I cannot wait for season two, especially after that season finale.


If anything, you should watch for these three words: Coach. Cal. Maddox.


Favorite Instagram

If you’re not following Morgan Harper Nichols, do you even Instagram? For real – her work is incredible. She is a musician, poet, and artist, who draws inspiration from real stories and her own life, which makes each one of her posts resonate deeply. Her voice is a calming one in the midst of all the chaos that social media can be.


Favorite YouTuber

The last favorite I will share with you today is personal style YouTuber and blogger Audrey Coyne. Her pleasing aesthetic and soothing voice were the first things that attracted me to her channel, but I stuck around for her solid advice! She has inspired me to look at my wardrobe with a critical eye in order to define my personal style. I've only begun this personal style journey, and I'll be taking you along with me in future posts. Here is one video I recommend starting with if you are interested in curating a better personal style:


That wraps up this edition of Friday Favorites! What are some things you're enjoying lately? I'd love to hear your recommendations, too.


Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page