top of page
  • Writer's pictureSammy Kalski

My Top Five Books of 2020

One of my goals this year was to read 20 books. Right now I'm reading my 21st! I've enjoyed getting back into my habit of reading, and I wanted to share my top five books of 2020. I don't have consistent metrics behind my rating system, so these books aren't my top rated (though most have four or five stars). Rather, I chose them for their general impact compared to all the books I've read this year.


You can also read about the other books I've read in my quarter one, two, and three reviews. My quarter four review will be up on Thursday, so stay tuned for that.


Let's through the books in the order I read them!


Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

The year is 2575. Kady broke up with her boyfriend Erza on the day her planet is invaded. Two rival mega-corporations are fighting over this distance planet, forcing Kady and Ezra to evacuate. Once onboard the spaceships, their problems multiply: a deadly plague, a rogue AI, and shady leaders. As Kady tries to uncover what's really going on, she realizes that the only person who could help is her ex-boyfriend.


I read Illuminae in three days. It's a 608-page book. Three days. It is thrilling! The formatting of the book, the high, high stakes, and the fun cast of characters honestly left me quite breathless. I immediately wanted to pick up its sequel, Gemina (though I didn't actually buy it until this month). I rated it 5/5 stars.


All the Places to Go by John Ortberg

God rarely gives the command to "Stay." Instead, He calls to walk through open doors. The doors we choose (or don't!) shape our lives and who we are to become. However... how do you know which door is the one God is calling you to?


I read All the Places to Go with my cousin and we discussed each chapter together, which I really enjoyed. I found it insightful. Ortberg explains that "an open door is an opportunity provided by God, to act with God and for God." Open doors don't alway look like accepting a call to the foreign mission field. Every day is filled with open doors, and God wants us to learn how to recognize them.


This book is great for anyone desiring to learn how to recognize divine opportunity, but I think it's especially helpful for those in transitions. Ortberg's writing style is approachable yet full of profound thoughts. I definitely will re-read this one. 4/5 stars!


Persuasion by Jane Austen

Twenty-seven-year-old Anne Elliot's family is on the brink of financial ruin. They find themselves renting their estate to the wealthy Admiral Crof and his wife. Mrs. Croft's brother, Captain Frederick Wentworth, returns from his time at sea, much to Anne's surprise and torment. Eight years earlier, Anne had broken off their engagement, due to the persuasion of a close family friend. Anne can't help but wonder if Captain Wentworth's feelings for her remain as her feelings for him have.


I love, love, love Persuasion. Austen weaves an incredible novel filled with introspection, awkwardness, angst, and clever social commentary. Much of Anne's feelings were relevant even still today. Also, Captain Wentworth! I rated this book 4/5.


The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

Starr Carter navigates between two worlds: her poor neighborhood where she lives and the rich suburbs where she attends school. The balance between these worlds collaspes when Starr witnesses the fatal shooting of her childhood best friend Khalil at the hands of a police officer. Khalil was unarmed. Soon, Khalil's death becomes national news. Some are calling him a thug or even a drug dealer. Everyone wants to know what happened that night. Starr is the only one who knows, but speaking up may endanger her life.


The Hate U Give has been on my TBR (to be read) list since it came out in 2017. As I read it, I could hear the voice of my English professor in my mind: "Reading is an exercise in empathy."

I will never fully comprehend or even experience police brutality and racism as a white woman. While reading, I experienced the world through Starr's eyes and felt her frustration, joy, fear, anguish, and hope. Though the places, people, and events are fictional, they easily could be real. It is real. I don't want to spoil anything, but it really hit me on the last page of the book. I gave The Hate U Give 5/5 stars.


The Hate U Give is also a movie starring Amandla Stenberg.


A Man Called Ove by Fredrik Backman

Ove is your typical grumpy old man. He points at people he doesn't like, argues about everything, and keeps to strict routine. When a chatty young couple with two equally talkative daughters announce their arrival by flattening Ove's mailbox, a story of unlikely friendship begins. Little does anyone know that this friendship will chip away at Ove's curmudgeon exterior to reveal his hidden sadness and big heart.


I decided to included A Man Called Ove on this list before I had even finished it, and it is a must-add for everyone's TBR shelf. Backman's narration moves from hilarious to heartbreaking and back again with ease. I've literally laughed out loud and I've been brought to tears. I loved it so much. 5/5 stars, no questions asked! I also discovered that this book was turned into a movie, which I need to watch ASAP!


I read a lot of great books this year. I can't wait to read more! What were your top books of 2020?

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page