top of page
  • Writer's pictureSammy Kalski

A Year of Increase: Quarter One Review

Updated: Oct 11, 2020

Somehow, we’re already four months into 2020. This year – though not going how anybody thought it would – is flying by. Regardless of the current events, I want to keep working towards my 2020 goals. I started doing a quarterly review of my goals last year, inspired by one of my favorite bullet journalists. It helped me stay on track, and it makes it easier to reflect on my final progress at the end of the year, too! In a quarterly review, I assess what was and wasn’t working, how life circumstances affected my goat-getting, and what steps I should take next. I wasn’t perfect at reviewing quarterly, but this year I decided to try it again.


The four goals that I shared with you are:

  1. Wellness: replace chemical products with natural ones (as I can afford it)

  2. Spiritual: finish The Chronological Bible plan

  3. Creative: read 20 books

  4. Personal: pass the B2 level for German fluency on Deutsche Welle


Wellness

If you’d like a more detailed explanation of why I chose what I did, check out this blog post

I had switched out my body wash at school with one from Love, Beauty, & Planet. I can't remember the name, but I loved the smell – it even lingered on me the morning after my night shower! I also started some research on natural shampoos. I decided on what I’m looking for in a natural shampoo: lathering, as zero waste as possible, and the after-wash feel. I bought a shampoo bar from Lush called Jason and the Argon Oil, and I’m excited to try it once I finish my bottle of Suave. I'll be sure to let you know what I think! During quarantine, I've also been experimenting with extending my hair washes. I've gone up to 5 days! This will extend the life of my shampoo and conditioner. I also bought my favorite Lush bar soap, Figs and Leaves.


Spiritual

My consistency with the reading plan varied often, but I’m trying not to be so hard on myself when I get behind. While it’s nice to stay on track, that’s not the point. The point is to gain a greater understanding of God’s Word. I’ve been enjoying using both the NKJV and AMPC translations, and I’ve also watched the Bible Project videos on each book I’ve read. I also try to read over my notes every so often, so that I can remember what I’ve read and learned.


Creative

I’ve read five books! That’s already a quarter into my goal, so I am well on track, even a little ahead. I reread the Legend trilogy (Legend, Prodigy, and Champion) by Marie Lu and read Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff and The Force Awakens by Alan Dean Foster. I’ve written mini reviews for each book on my Goodreads! In quarter two, I want to read at least one non-fiction book.

I've read 5/20 books for this year's reading challenge!

Personal

I took the Deutsche Welle B2 test at least twice, but I only recorded my second score. I got an 68%, so I definitely have some work to do. There were some skills I know that I know, but I'm just out of practice. I want to get at least a 90% before moving on. Once the semester ends, I will create a language learning routine for myself.


Despite how this year has gone so far, I am satisfied with my progress with these goals. These are just a few of the goals I’ve set for myself to increase my knowledge, passion, and growth in these areas of my life.


How are you doing with your goals? Are you making progress or need to reassess? Let me know in the comments!


60 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page