top of page
  • Writer's pictureSammy Kalski

My Three Goals for Studying Abroad

This semester, I am studying abroad in Lüneburg, Germany though an organization called USAC. During the application process, I had to express why I wanted to study abroad and what my goals would be for the semester. Since I am leaving tomorrow (!!), I thought I would share my goals with you and reflect on them when the semester is over.


Goal One: Language Acquisition


My main goal for studying abroad is language acquisition. I’ve been learning German since sixth grade after discovering Spanish was a no-go, because I can’t roll my R’s. Now I am pursuing fluency as best as I can by minoring in the language. My plan for language acquisition is two-fold. The first part, of course, are my classes. I am in a language track that is comprised of three five-week courses. Essentially, I am taking a year and a half’s worth of German. My electives are Myths and Legends, which is taught in German, and Intercultural Communications, which is taught in English. I am a little nervous about the intensity of the courses, but I am ready to challenge myself.


The second part of my plan is to take what I’ve learned outside the classroom. I went on an exchange trip in high school, and my biggest regret was hardly speaking any German while I was there. My exchange partner and her friends spoke English well, so English became a crutch. This time I have promised myself – and my professor – that I will speak German as much as I can, even if I make mistakes. I’m living with a host family, so that will give me great opportunities to speak with and listen to native German speakers. I plan on keeping a small notebook to track the new vocabulary words I learn from my host family and other friends I make. I’m also excited to have German TV, movies, and books at my disposal to increase my comprehension and listening skills.


Goal Two: Make New Friends

While I am an introvert, studying abroad will be a great way for me to get out of my comfort zone and maybe, just maybe, do some socializing in real life. USAC is open to students across the country, and there are roughly 30 or so students in the Lüneburg 2019 program. I’m excited to meet them and make friends with other students who enjoy traveling and German culture as much as I do. I also chose to live with a host family to make betters friends with the locals. It’s so cool to think that upon returning home, I’ll have friends across the country and the world.

Goal Three: Increase Independence + Self-Confidence

My last goal that I have for studying is increased independence and self-confidence. Throughout high school and college, I have gained a strong sense of independence, but I know living abroad for four months would challenge me in a way I couldn’t get in the States. I will have to face some fears, such as flying alone and navigating public transportation. It will not only increase my language confidence, but it will also increase my confidence in myself. Studying abroad will be a major accomplishment in my college career, if not the biggest. Because I won’t have any of my regular support, I’m going to be the one to make decisions and find solutions on my own. I also will learn how to navigate new situations and surroundings, such as public transportation and trip planning. One thing is for sure – I will not return to the States exactly as I left them.


I’m SO excited and grateful for this opportunity. I’m planning on documenting my time abroad on the blog every week, so you can join me on my adventures here on the blog and my Instagram. Bis bald!

66 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page