top of page
  • Writer's pictureSammy Kalski

Seven Things I Wish I Did in High School

Whether you like it or not, it’s back-to-school season. Many high schools already started, and the rest are starting in the coming weeks. Growing up, I loved school supplies shopping and trying to convince my mom to buy some extra fun items that I “needed.” With this being my last back-to-school season as a student (how did that happen?!), I figure I’ve got enough hindsight in my back pocket to offer some advice to you! (Albeit a tad unsolicited, but that’s how the internet works *shrugging emoji*).

My creative writing workshop class was one of my favorite classes in high school

One: Make friends with your guidance counselor.

I met with my guidance counselor no more than twice in four years, and one meeting was required. Don’t do that! Their job is to help you – whether you have questions about classes, college applications, or finding scholarships. Speaking of scholarships…


Two: Start your scholarship search sooner rather than later.

Don’t wait until you’re an upperclassman to start! The more you apply for, the more opportunities you’ll have to receive funds. A quick Google search will come up with a couple hundred hits (at least!). One good website is Niche.com. They compile hundreds of scholarships, plus they host a monthly $2,000 drawing! Another good resource is your guidance counselor. They’ll know about local scholarships that only are offered to students at your school or in your area. You’re more likely to receive one of those than nationwide scholarships. (Bonus: keep an eye on those due dates. I lost out on a few scholarship opportunities because of missed due dates.)


Three: Choose health over homework.

I finally learned this lesson after a sleep-deprived junior year, and I’m still committed to it. I make exceptions on occasion, but I stick to a fairly strict bedtime. Sleep and staying healthy is worth more than no missed assignments. If you’re drowning in homework and overbooked with extracurriculars, re-prioritize. It’s okay to say no. If you’re really struggling to keep up, it’s okay to ask for help. Ask your teacher if they would be willing to work something out. Most of them will, especially if you are proactive. A’s are not worth being sick from stress.

You are all these things and more!

Four: Get a job. Or don’t.

This one depends on your lifestyle and schedule. I didn’t have a job (like a ‘real’ one) during high school. For the most part, I was too busy, and that’s okay if you are too. Only you are the one who can decide if you can handle it. I know this is conflicting advice, but don’t give into the pressure either way – to have or not have a job.


Five: Save for college earlier.

Along with having a job and looking for scholarships, I wish I would have started putting away money for college. Even if it’s 10% of each paycheck, birthday money, or wherever your money comes from – every penny counts when saving for college.


Six: Be bold in your faith.

eI started a Project 7 my sophomore year, and I could have done so much more with it. Your school desperately needs someone who will be bold for Jesus. Stand for truth in your classroom, with your friends, and on social media. You never know who you might influence

My P7 booth during open house at my high school

Seven: Have fun!

Finally, I hope you take the time to enjoy your high school years. It really does go fast. While I definitely would not say they were the best four years of my life, I did experience a lot of cool things with good people. Take fun electives. Go on trips. Make new friendships and strengthen others. Try new things. Stay far, far away from the drama. High school is what you make of it, so make it a good one.


What would you tell your high school self?


23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page