top of page
  • Writer's pictureSammy Kalski

2020: The Year (+ Decade) of Increase

I’d like to have a conversation with whoever allowed the new year to begin in the middle of the week. Despite my dismay at the hump day new year, I’ve always found this time to be exciting – 12 shiny new months lie ahead. I think of what the year might bring; this year, college graduation. A new job, hopefully. Student loan repayments, unfortunately.


A new year means reflecting on the one gone by. My word for 2019 was dream. I fulfilled a huge dream to study abroad, spending four months in Germany. God reminded me of His promises, and my desires to see my family saved and to be used for His kingdom. Not all of my dreams – goals – for the year came to pass, but I made many steps towards them.


I always answer a few reflective questions for my yearly review in my bullet journal. One question that I’ve asked myself is “what were the three most important lessons?” This year, I’ve learned that:

  1. There is no teacher like traveling and experiences.

  2. I have influence; I can be in charge and make decisions.

  3. God wants to use all of me, even the messy and broken pieces.


The first lesson came from my time abroad. There is truly nothing like experiencing another culture and people firsthand. I came home a different person, which I will discuss more in a blog post later this week.


I learned the second lesson as I took over the editor-in-chief position for my school’s student newspaper. I had to jump in right at the start of the semester instead of transitioning during the semester before, as I was abroad. I realized the full weight of my position when the faculty advisor told me that I’m ultimately responsible for what goes in the paper, after sorta waiting for her permission to send the first issue to the press. With one semester of the editorship under my belt, I feel more comfortable leading and I’m learning a lot about my style.

the first issue of the SWORD under my editorship

The third lesson is a sweeping analysis of everything I’ve gone through spiritually this year, from personal study to church conventions. My devotion time wasn’t as I had hoped it would be, but even in that I learned the depths of His love. I can’t pinpoint an exact moment when I learned this, but I’ve ended the year with the understanding that any distance between me and God is distance I’ve put there myself.


I didn’t do much reflection on the decade on paper, but I’ve done a fair amount of mental reflection. In 2009, I was 11. I finished my elementary school years at my beloved private school and entered the public system. Middle school was, well, middle school. I gained more confidence by participating forensics club, a public speaking competition, in eighth and ninth grade. Throughout the years, I made my walk with God more and more personal.


In 2015, I went to Germany for the first time, kindling my love for both the country and travel. I graduated high school and started college in 2016. I don’t think any of my past selves – middle, high school, early college – would have guessed that I would write my English senior thesis on internet grammar and memes. But I did. Comparing myself now to the younger versions, I can’t say I predicted who I’ve turned out to be so far, but I’m also not entirely surprised. Life has a funny way of making us who we are.

My high school friends and I in Heidelberg, Germany (2015)

A new year also means making plans. I’m a goal-setter, (part of my Enneagram wing 1 nature, I think) but I’ve only set documented-on-paper-with-some-outlined-steps sort of goals the past three years. I have four categories: wellness, spiritual, creative, and personal. I typically make three small-ish goals within each category, for a total of twelve. It seems like a lot – and it probably is – but each goal is made of daily and weekly habits I can incorporate over the next 366 days.


Because internet accountability is definitely a thing, I thought I’d share a few goals:

  1. Wellness: replace chemical products with natural ones (as I can afford it)

  2. Spiritual: finish The Chronological Bible plan

  3. Creative: read 20 books

  4. Personal: pass the B2 level for German fluency on Deustche Welle


I used to call this category “health,” but wellness feels more encompassing. Wellness is more than physical needs, such as water and exercise, but also mental, emotional, and environmental. I’ve already switched over my skincare to Lush, an all-natural cosmetic company. This year, I’m going to try to switch out my haircare, and maybe dental care.


Spiritual goals are steps I can take to get closer to God. It’s been a while since I’ve done a Bible-in-a-year plan, and I’ve never done a chronological plan, so I figured it was time. I will be reading from the Amplified Classic translation on my phone while comparing it to my physical NKJV version.

I like to think of myself as being a creative person, so I want to develop more outlets and. Last year, my reading challenge was 20 books; I finished 9, so the number remains. I was an avid reader in high school, back when I took less-demanding classes and no job (what a life). I miss it, so I’m looking forward to getting back into reading and the community. I’m challenging myself to read a mix of fiction, nonfiction, and spiritual books this year. You can follow along and make your own reading challenge on Goodreads.


Personal goals are anything that doesn’t fall into the other three. Studying abroad reinvigorated my desire to learn German, but I slowly began slacking, especially as I wasn’t taking a formal German class this semester. I read the first Percy Jackson book in German over the summer, so I feel like the B2 level is right within my grasp.


My word for 2020 is increase. It was inspired by this podcast, and I came across the word again in my Bible reading a few days later. Given my goals in all categories and my life’s desire to be used for the Kingdom, I thought it fitting to declare the new year and decade the year of increase.

  • He must increase but I must decrease. – John 3:30

  • And the apostles said to the Lord, “Increase our faith.” – Luke 17:5

  • He gives power to the weak and to the those who have no might he increases strength. Isaiah 40:29

  • So then neither he who plants is anything; nor is he who waters, but God gives the increase. – 1 Cor. 3:7

  • And may the Lord make you increase and abound in love to love another and to all… – 1 Thes. 3:12

the 2020 title page in my bullet journal

41 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page